Go to Main Content


※ This page covers only basic information on visas. Entry and visa requirements are subject to change due to the on-going pandemic. International visitors are recommended to inquire their respective consulate and visa center in advance for the latest information and prepare necessary documents for visa issuance.

Since April 13, 2020, the Republic of Korea has temporarily suspended visa waivers to countries/regions (90*) despite the visa-free entry agreement.
※ There are 56 countries subject to visa waiver agreements, and 34 countries/regions allowed for visa-free entry (※ Japan already began implementing its entry restriction policy as of March 9.)

Accordingly, if those who hold passports of the countries concerned (90 countries/regions) want to enter Korea, they have to be issued a visa at the Korean embassy in their country of residence.


Visa issuance

All foreigners entering Korea must obtain an entry permit at the airport immigration office upon entry. The requirements for entry permits may differ depending on visa agreements and the purpose of visit.
Foreigners without appropriate visa may be denied entry.
Even those with visas may be denied entry if they don’t meet the entry requirements.
Foreigners can apply for visas at the Korean embassy in their country.
Those who apply for a visa must submit necessary documents (varies by purpose of visit) to the Korean embassy in their country.
Check the following link to see a list of requirements and documentation according to your purpose of visit.


Visa cancellation and change

The Minister of Justice may cancel or change visas in any of the following cases:

  • Not having a guarantor or if the guarantor withdraws their guarantee;
  • Obtaining a visa by dishonest or fraudulent means;
  • Violating the conditions of visa issuance;
  • Violating the conditions of visa issuance;
  • If the concerned foreigner violated law, including the Immigration Control Act, or does not follow the justifiable order of the Immigration Office, the Minister of Justice may request the foreigner or applicant to appear at a government office, if judged as necessary according to Article 79 of the Immigration Control Act, and listened to his/her explanation of the situation concerning cancellation of change of visa; and/or
  • The Minister of Justice, upon requesting the said foreigner to come to a government office to verbally explain his/her explanation, must notify the reasons for cancellation or change of visa, and working hours/date and office. In case the presence was requested at least 7 days in advance.

Visa-free entry

Foreigners, including nationals of countries with which ROK signed a visa waiver agreement, can enter Korea without a visa in case of any of the following cases:

  • Entering Korea within the designated period after obtaining or being exempted from a re-entry permit;
  • Entering Korea as an eligible national of a country that signed a visa waiver agreement with Korea;
  • Entering Korea for the sake of international friendship or national interest of Korea after obtaining a separate entry permit; and/or
  • Re-entering Korea within the designated period, being issued with a refugee travel document.



Korea Electronic Travel Authorization (K-ETA) needs to be obtained by applying in advance to show as proof that a visitor who can enter Korea without a visa. Those who hold a passport of a country in the following list are eligible for application. Refer to the website regarding how to apply, fees, and more information.

  • Asia : apan (90 days), Hong Kong (90 days), Macau (90 days), Taiwan (90 days), Brunei (30 days), Qatar (30 days), Saudi Arabia (30 days), Kuwait (90 days), Oman (30 days; 90 days for diplomatic/official passports), United Arab Emirates (90 days), Bahrain (30 days) [11 countries]
  • North America : United States (90 days), Canada (6 months) [2 countries]
  • South America : Argentina (30 days; 90 days for diplomatic/official passports), Honduras (30 days), Paraguay (30 days; 90 days for diplomatic/official passports), Uruguay (90 days), Ecuador (90 days; 3 months for diplomatic/official passports), Guyana (30 days) [6 countries]
  • Europe : Andorra (30 days), Monaco (30 days), San Marino (30 days), Albania (30 days), Croatia (90 days), Slovenia (90 days), Bosnia and Herzegovina (30 days), Serbia (90 days), Montenegro (30 days) [9 countries]
  • Oceania : Australia (90 days), Guam (30 days), Fiji (30 days), Nauru (30 days), Palau (30 days), Kiribati (30 days), Marshall Islands (30 days), Solomon Islands (30 days), Micronesia (30 days), Samoa (30 days), Tuvalu (30 days), Tonga (30 days) [12 countries]
  • Africa : South Africa (30 days), Mauritius (30 days), Seychelles (30 days), Eswatini (30 days), Egypt (90 days) [5 countries]