Go to Main Content

Culture & Tourism news

  • Seoul Metro Opens 9th Annual International Subway Film Festival

  • Culture & Tourism news SMG 1621

    Seoul Metro Opens 9th Annual International Subway Film Festival

    Asia’s first international, the short film festival is scheduled to take place simultaneously in both the subway facilities of Seoul, Korea, and Barcelona, Spain. The 9th Annual International Subway Film Festival opened on August 24, with the top-selected films screening until September 14, through subway lines 1 through 8.

    This festival is a collaboration between the Seoul Metro and Transports Metropolitans de Barcelona (TMB), featuring a number of quality domestic and international 90-second short films to reward city residents with a sense of enjoyment during their day.

    This year’s festival saw an additional 13 film entries, in comparison to last year, for an unprecedented total of 1,067 features from 41 countries around the world, calling for a panel of six judges to select the final 26 films representing 11 countries. These top-selected features are comprised of 20 international and six domestic films competing with one another.

    The finalists are to be screened on subway lines 1 through 8, using the electronic notification boards located on subway platforms, while also being available via the festival’s official CGV Yeongdeungpo website (www.smiff.kr). Award-winning films competing with one another will also be screened simultaneously in the subway, bus, and Tram, located in Barcelona, Spain.

    The 26 finalists pre-selected by the panel of film experts are to be narrowed down to a final-four selection by the public viewers themselves. The public may partake in the voting process, scheduled to be conducted from August 24 to September 12, while the final four are to be determined by a total vote count for each film. Those participating in the voting process are rewarded free gifts through a special drawing, including movie tickets and more.

    CGV Yeongdeungpo is set to host both the closing and awards ceremony on September 14.