Bureau and Corporate Funded Body
A large number of people have been using Seoul Station.
The station was started at a small wooden building, which was located in Yeomchongyo Bridge area, in July, 1900, when Gyeongin Railroad was openend. It is called as Namdaemun Station at first.
During the colonial period, Japanese colonists attempted to change the landscape of Korea in all manner of ways. The construction of Seoul Station, which was called little Tokyo Station, was part of this scheme.
The building was completed in September 1925 after 33 months of work, and named Gyeongseong Station. It became the talk of the town due to its unique, grandiose appearance and domed roof.
The restoration of the former Seoul Station was started in July 2009, to creat the cultural space and recover the value as the National Cultural Heritage. In August 2011, the station was reopened to the public under the name Culture Station Seoul 284 after two years of restoration work.