Go to Main Content

The Cultural Heritage of SEOUL(TBS)

  • 50. Yongsan Catholic Seminary

  • The Cultural Heritage of SEOUL(TBS) SMG 4882


    With the signing of the Korea-France Treaty in 1886, the country’s 100-year-long persecution of Catholics came to an end. Seoul’s three main cathedrals, Yakhyeon Cathedral (1892), Myeongdong Cathedral (1898), and Wonhyoro Cathedral (1902) were all built shortly thereafter. The Gothic-style Wonhyoro Cathedral (or Youngsan Catholic Seminary) is located within the compound of Seomshim Girls Middle/High School.